Founders read deal announcements for two things: what it sold for, and what happened to the person who started it. Across the 23 founder ownership deals Remarkable Magazine has profiled in 2026, the answers are less public, and less founder-friendly, than the headlines suggest. Only 8 of the 23 disclosed a price. Only 5 founders kept the top job.
This page is the index of that reporting, updated as we add profiles. Each row links to the full story and its sources.
The 23 deals
| Founder | Brand | What happened | When (2026) | Price | Founder after the deal |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Paul & Maurice Marciano | Guess? | Taken private with Authentic Brands (51% of IP) | Closed Jan. 23 | $16.75/share, ≈$1.4B incl. debt, disclosed | Paul stays chief creative officer; family keeps part of the 49% of IP |
| Justin Gill | Bachan’s | Sold to Marzetti | Feb. 3; closed May 1 | $400M, disclosed | Not stated |
| Simon Porte Jacquemus | Jacquemus | Founder sells 5% to Sandbridge | Mar. 23 | Undisclosed | Keeps the majority |
| Nima Jalali | Salt & Stone | Majority stake to Advent International | Mar. 24 | Undisclosed | Stays CEO, minority stake |
| Tim Brown & Joey Zwillinger | Allbirds | Brand sold to American Exchange Group | Mar. 30 | $39M, disclosed | Already stepped back |
| Evan Burns | The Finnish Long Drink | Sold to Mark Anthony (White Claw) | Apr. 13 | ≈$325M with earnouts, reported | Not stated |
| Tory Burch | Tory Burch | Company buys out General Atlantic | April | ≈$346M, reported | Founder’s company is the buyer |
| Marc Jacobs | Marc Jacobs | LVMH sells to G-III and WHP Global | May 14; closed Sept. 1 | Up to $850M raised, reported; G-III ≈$500M | Stays creative director |
| Charlotte Tilbury | Charlotte Tilbury Beauty | Puig raises stake to ≈85% | May | ≈€350M tranche, reported | Stays President, Chairman and CEO |
| Michael Preysman | Everlane | Majority sold to Shein | May | ≈$100M, reported | Already off the board |
| Giambattista Valli | Giambattista Valli | Founder buys Artémis out | May 20 | Undisclosed | Founder is the buyer |
| Viktor Horsting & Rolf Snoeren | Viktor & Rolf | OTB buys the remaining stake | June 4 | Undisclosed | Stay creative directors |
| Michael Truell | Anysphere (Cursor) | Sold to SpaceX | June 16; closed Aug. 14 | $60B all-stock, disclosed | Not stated |
| Lucy Aylen | Never Fully Dressed | 75%+ to Refined Capital Partners | July 15 | Undisclosed | Stays CEO |
| Iskra Lawrence | Saltair | Majority stake to TSG Consumer | July 30 | Undisclosed | Chief Community Advocate |
| Gary Lavin | VitHit | Sold to Nichols (Vimto) | Aug. 10 | €75M, disclosed | Left on day one |
| Shay Mitchell | BÉIS | 85% to Samsonite | Aug. 12 | $178.5M for 85%, disclosed | Keeps creative role, 15% stake |
| Elizabeth Stein | Purely Elizabeth | Sold to Ferrero | Aug. 14 | >$850M, Forbes estimate | Stays CEO |
| Charlie Morgan & Jackson Quinn | Au Vodka | Sold to Sazerac | Aug. 17 | ≈£500M, reported | Not stated |
| Christian Pineda | Los Tacos No. 1 | Strategic investment from TSG Consumer | Sept. 3 | Undisclosed | Stays CEO |
| Dennis Crowley | Foursquare | Sold to Infillion | Sept. 18 | Undisclosed; $0 to equity, per Crowley | Long gone |
| Daniel Patiño | Salad and Go | Brand bought out of bankruptcy | Oct. 14 | $180,000, court record | Founder is the buyer |
| Dr. Zein Obagi | ZO Skin Health | Sold to Galderma | Oct. 14 | $1.5B EV, disclosed | Not stated |
Two other founder stories from 2026 are not counted because no ownership changed hands: Tim Steiner’s announced handover of the Ocado CEO job, and Ben Francis’s reported talks to buy back part of General Atlantic’s Gymshark stake.
Finding 1: most prices are not public
![]()
Eight of 23 deals (35%) had a price disclosed by the parties, a filing or a court. Seven more (30%) have a figure only because a journalist or analyst reported one, from Puck’s $100 million for Everlane to Forbes’ $850 million-plus estimate for Purely Elizabeth. Eight (35%) have no reported price at all.
The pattern follows the buyer. Public companies disclosed: Marzetti, Nichols, Galderma, Samsonite, SpaceX, and Guess, whose take-private needed a shareholder vote. Private equity investors and family holding companies did not: Advent, Refined Capital Partners, TSG Consumer (twice), Sandbridge, Artémis and OTB. A founder reading these deals for comparables has less to go on than the headlines imply, and should treat a “reported” number as exactly that.
Finding 2: founders who stay usually stay as the creative, not the CEO
![]()
Five of 23 founders kept the top job after the deal: Nima Jalali, Lucy Aylen, Elizabeth Stein, Charlotte Tilbury and Christian Pineda. Six stayed in a different role, almost always creative: Shay Mitchell, Marc Jacobs, Paul Marciano, Simon Porte Jacquemus, and Viktor Horsting and Rolf Snoeren on the design side, and Iskra Lawrence as Chief Community Advocate. Four were already gone or left at closing: Allbirds’ founders, Michael Preysman, Dennis Crowley and Gary Lavin. In three cases the founder was the buyer: Daniel Patiño, Tory Burch’s company and Giambattista Valli. For five, including Justin Gill and Dr. Zein Obagi, the announcement said nothing about the founder’s role.
In fashion the split is consistent: someone else owns or runs the business and the founder runs the design. Marc Jacobs, Viktor & Rolf and Guess all ended 2026 that way.
Finding 3: the spread is enormous
The cheapest deal in the set is a brand name bought out of bankruptcy for $180,000. The largest is a $60 billion all-stock acquisition. Among consumer brands sold whole with a disclosed price, Allbirds went for $39 million, five years after a $4.1 billion IPO-day value, and ZO Skin Health for $1.5 billion. Where both price and sales are public, the consumer brands sold for roughly 2.8 to 4.6 times sales: VitHit at about 2.8 times, ZO at about 4.5 and Bachan’s at about 4.6, by our arithmetic. The faster the growth, the higher the multiple. Guess, with about $3 billion of annual revenue, was taken private at about $1.4 billion including debt, under half a year’s sales.
How we counted
- Scope: every founder profile Remarkable Magazine published through October 28, 2026 where an ownership deal was agreed or completed in calendar 2026: an acquisition, a stake sale, a buyback, a take-private or a sale out of bankruptcy. Handovers and reported talks are listed but not counted.
- “Disclosed” means the price appears in the buyer’s or seller’s own announcement or filing, or a court record. A figure attributed to an unnamed source, a publication’s estimate, or a “reported” valuation counts as reported, not disclosed. Marc Jacobs counts as reported: G-III disclosed its own ≈$500 million investment, not the total price.
- Founder’s role is taken from the deal announcement or the coverage cited in each profile. “Not stated” means the announcement did not say, not that the founder left.
- Each count can be checked against the linked profile and its sourcing note. We will update this page as we add profiles; the date of the last update is shown at the top.
Related reading
- Dennis Crowley Says Foursquare’s Sale Paid Equity Holders Nothing: why an undisclosed price can hide the worst outcome.
- Shay Mitchell Sold Half of BÉIS. Her Job Didn’t Change.: the most fully disclosed consumer deal on the list.
- Nima Jalali Sold Control of Salt & Stone. He Kept the Job.: the clearest case of selling control and staying CEO.
Method and sources: every row summarises a Remarkable Magazine profile; the primary and secondary sources for each figure are listed in the sourcing note at the foot of that profile. The counts, percentages and multiples on this page are our own arithmetic from those profiles, as of October 28, 2026.
Frequently asked
How many 2026 founder deals disclosed their price?
Of the 23 founder ownership deals Remarkable Magazine profiled in 2026, 8 had a price disclosed by the parties, a filing or a court: Bachan's, Allbirds, Anysphere, VitHit, BÉIS, Salad and Go, ZO Skin Health and the Guess take-private. Seven more are known only through press reports or estimates, and eight have no reported price at all. The count is ours, as of October 28, 2026.
Do founders stay after selling their company?
In this set, 5 of 23 founders kept the top job (Nima Jalali, Lucy Aylen, Elizabeth Stein, Charlotte Tilbury and Christian Pineda) and 6 stayed in a different role, mostly creative (Shay Mitchell, Iskra Lawrence, Marc Jacobs, Paul Marciano, Simon Porte Jacquemus, and Viktor Horsting and Rolf Snoeren). Four were already gone or left on day one, three were the buyers themselves, and five announcements did not say.
What was the largest founder deal of 2026 on this list?
SpaceX's $60 billion all-stock acquisition of Anysphere, the maker of Cursor, announced June 16, 2026. Among consumer brands, the largest disclosed price is Galderma's $1.5 billion enterprise value for ZO Skin Health.
What was the smallest?
Daniel Patiño's purchase of the Salad and Go name, trademarks and recipes for $180,000 out of bankruptcy, approved October 14, 2026. Among sales of a going brand, Allbirds' $39 million was the lowest, against a $4.1 billion IPO-day value in 2021.
